On The Shelf

It was a surprise, like waking up to find your best-friend standing at the bottom of your bed. That’s what it felt like to see the first book I’ve been published in – Breaking The Silence – on the bookshelf. I looked at the shelf in Exclusive Books – Exclusive Books! How often I’d imagined the thrill of seeing a book I’d written on one of their shelves, and now it was a reality. I looked around to find my husband, but he was lost in the throng of book browsers with their heads bowed into facelessness.

The Tip-Toe Men is the first short story of mine that has been published in a collection, and it’s a story I’m proud of. It addresses the themes of abuse and abandonment. Most of my writing revolves around social issues and themes that I feel compelled to write about. To read an extract from the story, go to:

http://jacana.book.co.za/blog/2008/03/27/excerpt-from-breaking-the-silence/

 

Leave a Reply

